Find a Notary Notary Forums Notary Training Notary Supplies
Notary.net Homepage
Notary.net Login    
DISCLAIMER: The information contained in these forums is not necessarily the opinion of Notary.net, its subsidiaries or parent companies. Notary.net does not endorse or validify any of this information. If you find any information to be innacurate, please post directly to these forums or contact the post creator.

Forums - California Notary Forums - Copy certification by document custodian  
Search
Thread Topic: Copy certification by document custodian
Topic Originator: Martin Basaldua
Post Date May 12, 2009 @ 7:49 PM

Martin Basaldua
1 Posts
(, CA)
Copy certification by document custodian05/12/2009  7:49 PM

This is my first time request for copy certification by document custodian.  How do i do that, and what forms do i attach to the driver license copy?  Also, do i enter it in journal as a jurat?

Thanks,
Martin

Lisa Thornton
233 Posts
(Upland, CA)
RE: Copy certification by document custodian05/12/2009  8:46 PM

Email me your fax number and I'll fax the form to you.  My email is LKThornton@gmail.com

The top part can be filled out by the customer (if their writing is neat) and they'll need to sign it.  You complete the bottom half which is the notarial certificate - a jurat.  Administer the oath to them.  Yes, you check the jurat box for your journal entry.  That's the only form you need to attach to the driver's license copy. 

Do NOT use the Copy Certification by Document Custodian form for vital records - birth certificate, marriage or divorce certificate, death certificate.  If the client needs additional copies, they have to order copies from the county clerk - or better yet....refer them to www.vitalchek.com.    You may have to notarize their signature on the application for a birth certificate, marriage or divorce certificate, or death certificate.  But you cannot accept photocopies of a vital record.

Marian Harmon
293 Posts
(California City, CA)